Kapow!!!

Standard

It was my daughter`s birthday the other day. She, her dad and her five children all trooped off to a local carvery for dinner, everyone enjoys a good carvery.

They all ate mountains of food and were milling about, getting themselves ready to go to the cars and drive home. I didn`t go because I am a miserable, unsociable bugger and it was Friday and I just wanted to put my feet up. They came over to me after the meal.

Becky said that she had been talking to her dad and was vaguely aware of her youngest child who is eight, twittering somewhere near her ear, but she was ignoring it because this little lass does quite a lot of twittering and she already knew not to interrupt the adults. So…..

They strolled to the car and eventually it filtered through to my daughter`s  brain that her child was trying to draw attention to the fact that her nose” hurt and felt funny.” Just as Becky turned to see what was wrong, her little girl exploded with the most massive, gigantic sneeze you have ever heard, like a small explosion. Copious amounts of clear snot streamed down each side of her chin, all of it speckled with large amounts of black bits from an unknown source. It must have looked like the stuff that infected people puke up in Fortitude.

Becky said, “What on earth is that?” as all the other children fell about laughing hysterically.

As she wiped away the snotty mess with a napkin the siblings explained. They had persuaded their baby sister to snort a huge pile of black pepper up her nose from the back of their hands, telling her it was snuff.

Children do the weirdest things…….

 

About A night in with Nelly

I have recently been given the all clear having had breast cancer so I am grateful and happy. I work with people who have Alzheimer`s. I am mother to Jess in Europe and Rebecca who lives here. I have five grandchildren. I am an avid writer and have had a number of journalistic articles and two bookettes published. I believe in breathing, smiling and swimming in the ocean. :)

Leave a Reply

