Pruned.

Standard

Pruned.

Today I made a profound decision
I decided to stay alive
I decided to to allow myself to really feel
and to visit that dark place where sorrow lies.
To experience the truth of my sorrow
and to live out the rest of my time
in joyful connection with my world, my body and soul.

Some people prefer to take the path of joylessness,
alone.
Some people take the path of delight
and bring along a few friends.

I want to sing and dance and laugh and weep and love,

I want to embrace the deep intensity of my experience
and understand that this is me!
And be glad of who I am.

Some people maintain endless,
safe relationships with their past,
their only direction being towards their end.
So joyless,
they die alone.
Sexless,
dour and
empty.

Pruned.

I intend to die in a plumped up bed
with purple satin pillows
and a light quilt,
swathed in the luxurious memories of having joyfully embraced my life,
and in the arms of the one I love.

(In reflective and affectionate thoughts of IM who departed this earth, January, 2011.) 

About A night in with Nelly

I have recently been given the all clear having had breast cancer so I am grateful and happy. I work with people who have Alzheimer`s. I am mother to Jess in Europe and Rebecca who lives here. I have five grandchildren. I am an avid writer and have had a number of journalistic articles and two bookettes published. I believe in breathing, smiling and swimming in the ocean. :)

Leave a Reply

